Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today’s assignment in Writing 201: LIMERICK

Example of a limerick [taken from the notes]

It rarely takes a lot of time
To make the first two verses rhyme.
The third line is short.
The fourth? A mere snort.
You can sell limericks three for a dime.

Your prompt: journey
Today’s word prompt is journey. Write a poem about anything that word evokes for you, from the excitement of a trip you’re about to embark on; the mental progress you witnessed someone make; or the struggles, pleasures, and extreme emotions that travel can bring about.

My limerick is a poem about a journey of sorts. It is not strictly travelling in the true sense of the word from one place to another, but I do think that ageing can be considered as a “journey” from one stage in your life to another. So bearing this in mind, I have written “Disgracefully” which is part of a longer poem I wrote some years ago. Lucky for me that the first verse resembled a limerick, so all I had to do was copy and paste it! I have tried to follow the example above and I think I may have only just got it right, but I’m afraid I’ve fallen short on alliteration – must try harder!

pic17046
Disgracefully!

They say you should grow old gracefully
But I want to grow old quite disgracefully!
I want to eat pink ice-cream at dawn
And fawn
At the man 20 years younger than me!

~MEW